Pirate Pantry

The Pirate Pantry program is an outreach of the Lubbock-Cooper community present on each of the district's eight campuses which supplies students (and families) with food, clothing, supplies, and other needs.

The purpose of a campus Pirate Pantry is to provide essentials for students that they may not have access to, with the ultimate goal of giving them the best possible chance to succeed.

Campus Pirate Pantries accept donations from community members and operate through donations made by area business and community leaders and, most recently, a grant boost from First United Bank via the Lubbock-Cooper Education Foundation.

Can the Pirate Pantry help me (or someone I know)?

If you or someone you know has a need that the Pirate Pantry may be able to meet, please let us know by completing the Pirate Pantry Request Form. A Pirate Pantry liaison will reach out to you, the student, or the parent (depending on student's age) and attempt to fulfill requests. Remember that all Pirate Pantry requests are anonymous and may only be shared with campus administrators when necessary.

Pirate Pantry Liaisons

For more information about a campus Pirate Pantry, to determine the needs of a Pantry, or to volunteer to assist with a Pantry, contact the following individuals:

Lubbock-Cooper High School
Principal: Landon Winton lwinton@lcisd.net
Liaisons: Lisa Ramirezlmramirez@lcisd.net

 New Hope Academy
Principal: Phillip Saffel psaffel@lcisd.net
Liaison: Amanda Champion achampion@lcisd.net

Laura Bush Middle School
Principal: Edna Parr eparr@lcisd.net
Liaison: Martha Zielinski mzielinski@lcisd.net

Lubbock-Cooper Middle School
Principal: Tami Gunset tgunset@lcisd.net
Liaison: Stephanie Valdez svaldez@lcisd.net

 Lubbock-Cooper Central Elementary
Principal: Colter Cox ccox@lcisd.net
Liaison: J.R. Salinas jrsalinas@lcisd.net

Lubbock-Cooper East Elementary
Principal: Candice Cross ccross@lcisd.net
Liaison: Charnese Perez clperez@lcisd.net

Lubbock-Cooper North Elementary
Principal: Annie Crawford acrawford@lcisd.net
Liaison: Sally Doherty sdoherty@lcisd.net

 Lubbock-Cooper South Elementary
Principal: Frances Alonzo falonzo@lcisd.net
Liaison: Briseyda Garcia briseyda.garcia@lcisd.net

 Lubbock-Cooper West Elementary
Principal: Sasha Bennett sbennett@lcisd.net
Liaison: Paige Pierceppierce@lcisd.net

What should I donate?

As a general rule, Pirate Pantries are in need of:

- New and gently used clothing
- New and gently used shoes
- New undergarments
- New and gently used outerwear
- Packaged hygiene/toiletry items
- Packaged non-perishable food and snack items
- New school supplies
- Occasional situational needs, such as sleeping bags/pillows for a campus overnight activity, holiday food items, gift items for graduations and similar events

The needs of each campus Pirate Pantry vary depending on the season, the number of students served, and recent or ongoing drives. While Pirate Pantries always welcome (and greatly appreciate) donations, there may be times when a Pantry has reached clothing capacity but is in need of hygiene items, or needs weekend snack selections but does not have the room to accept additional toiletries. The best way to determine the needs of a particular campus' Pirate Pantry is to reach out to the Pantry Liaison or check the "Campus Needs" link found on the right-hand menu of this page.

How do I donate?

While Pirate Pantries always welcome (and greatly appreciate) donations, there are times when the needs and capacity of a Pantry may fluctuate.

The best way to determine the needs of a particular campus' Pirate Pantry is to reach out to the Pantry Liaison or check the "Campus Needs" link found on the right-hand menu of this page.

Once you have determined the needs you'd like to meet, please complete the Pirate Pantry Donation Form. You will be contacted by a Pirate Pantry Liaison who will set up a time to receive your donation and ensure that the Pantry is prepared (with enough staff and room) to accept your donation. (Smaller donations can be dropped off in campus offices.)